Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

Nostalgia 24 August 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aly @ 6:08 am

Recently, I’ve found myself looking back and realizing that I am just old enough to remember things I have long forgotten. Most of it is just about relatively unimportant things like my favorite games from when I was younger.

Some of it is more about how great life was when I was in elementary school: there were days when I would get home from school, finish off my homework while watching re-runs of Ghostwriter, and head straight to a world of books. That is literally all I would do all day. I read on average two books per day, and the librarian knew me by name. I used to read everywhere, no kidding. In the car, in class when I was bored, in the hallway on the way to or from the library or lunch, during meals, everywhere. Those memories are so special to me now, because without all that reading, I don’t know where I’d be today.

I cherish the memories of my little world, where the biggest problems in my life had to do with have three worksheets for homework instead of two, leaving a book I had half-read at school, or something similar. I miss those days more than I can stand, sometimes.

In a recent conversation with my friends, we got into a discussion about what an ideal age is. My friend “C” argued that eighteen was her goal, and after that she would probably only look back and wish she were eighteen again. “K” and I pointed out that life was so much better at eight. It was a time when worries were trivial, your parents took care of everything, and you didn’t really care. That contentment is more than most people feel for the rest of their lives. I cannot imagine ever living with so little care ever again.

I will admit that things didn’t seem so great back then, but isn’t that the meaning of the oft-repeated phrase? “You don’t know what you have until it’s gone.” The irony of it all is that I will probably look back in ten years’ time, wishing for these simpler times, when my worst concerns are about turning in homework late.

I’ll allow that nostalgia isn’t the greatest feeling in the world, but it’s helping me appreciate all the things I had, and how many of them I still have, albeit in a different form. It means a lot.

 

3 Responses to “Nostalgia”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I usually tend to go into my own bouts of nostalgia, but I only just realized that being privy to someone else going through nostalgia is quite depressing. However, the part where you read everywhere is quite amusing. I never did THAT much, and I had thought I was quite the avid reader as a kid. The librarian knew my name, too. But it was more like I would go home and read, so I only read like one book a day. During school I talked and laughed and life was awesome. =]

  2. Giouli Says:

    I feel nostalgia plays an important role in helping one realize that the present is quite precious – because things change, it is necessary to value what one has now. When I think about last year, it was possibly the best year I have ever had so far, because of all the new friendships formed, old friendships that grew, and just the experiences that will possibly never happen again.

    Your comment on the simplicity of life at that age is very true – when I look back on those years, I can’t remember many complications. I went to school, completed worksheets, talked to my friends, read books… There was no real “pressure.” I think childhood is really marked by the time when you have no worries about what you will do next. The time when “one year later” sounded so far away. Time stood still in a sense. But now, we experience all sorts of pressure and have to make everyday decisions that could affect us for years to come.

    I love how your posts really make us think. See, we knew there was a blogger within you. :D

  3. Aly Says:

    Anonymous, you think my nostalgia is depressing? That’s depressing. ;)

    Giouli, I know exactly what you mean by “everyday decisions that could affect us for years to come”. Aren’t we reminded every day that colleges will be looking at our semester grades, that colleges like it when you take AP classes, that they like it when you have lots of extracurriculars, that you have to get XXXX on the SATs to impress them?

    The funny part is that the decisions we made back then were just as important, but much more subtle. I don’t know how to say it better than that. :)


Leave a Reply

