Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

Six Books I Want to Read 28 September 2008

Filed under: Six — Aly @ 9:07 pm
  1. Slaughterhouse-Five. I have been waiting so long for this book to become available at the public library! After reading Cat’s Cradle, I am so excited to read something else by Vonnegut.
  2. The Light Fantastic. I read The Color of Magic (a birthday present from Jordan), but I haven’t gotten to this, the second in the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett, yet.
  3. Northanger Abbey. I want to see how Jane Austen does Gothic.
  4. The Fourth (as of yet, unnamed) Book in the Inheritance Cycle. I just finished Brisingr this weekend, and I want to read the last one, already! It is not that I am obsessed with this series or anything. As fantasy goes, it’s nowhere near the best. But I do like it more since reading Brisingr, I think.
  5. The Invisible Man. (The one by H.G. Wells, not Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison). I started it, and it sounds quite fascinating. But before I check it out from the library, I have to pay the five cents in fines I accrued for when I turned in the book of H.G. Wells’ short stories late back at the end of last year. How shall I ever afford it?
  6. ????  Suggestions, please!
 

3 Responses to “Six Books I Want to Read”

  1. Priya Says:

    Have you read Life of Pi yet? Sadly, that’s the only book I’ve really been reading lately.

  2. Aly Says:

    I read it several years ago (I borrowed it from Aditi) and to be honest, I thought it was kinda…crap. Everyone says it’s *so* good, though, so I have been thinking about rereading it and reconsidering. The thing is, I have so much to read anyway. I’m in the middle of The Manchurian Candidate, and after that, I have A Canticle for Leibowitz. Plus, I want to finish up The Invisible Man, because I already started. And then, there’s stuff for school. So not really much chance of Life of Pi soon… :(

  3. Priya Says:

    I think I read “Invisible Man” by Ralph Ellison in middle school…


Leave a Reply

