Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

My Weekend (Mainly) 22 October 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aly @ 1:27 am

Yeah…my whole “keep this blog updated and be responsible” thing did not work out so well. I wonder what I should do now. :-/

On an unrelated note, my bffaeaeae made a blog. I am happy and kinda jealous because his blog is cooler than mine, and also despite his supposed terrible writing skills, his posts are fun to read.

On a third note that is not associated with the first two, this past weekend was great! Friday was amazing, mainly because of the homecoming carnival. The school newspaper (of which I am a staff member) had a booth selling samosas, lasagna, egg rolls, and cookies. We made almost $150.00, and ended up having a ton of good food left over. Yum! An event that was fun to a lesser extent was the pep rally following the carnival. The only reason it was so fun was that my bffaeaeae made an epic sign. It was modeled after the one in the xkcd comic, and we ended up holding it up during the pep rally. Some people got the Wikipedia reference, but a total of maybe five got the xkcd reference. Yay for élitism! (The very fact that I am using an accented e shows how strongly I adhere to élitism. See what I did thar?)

Saturday was great too. First, I watched Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb on Turner Classic Movies. It was hilarious and pretty much amazing. How awesome is Stanley Kubrick? After that, I managed to dodge cleaning my room, which is what my mom wanted, by taking forever to get ready for the fair. It was kind of last-minute (if you count 18 hours’ notice “last-minute”), but I was really excited to go because I wanted to meet up with a group of my friends from middle school. We all sort of split up, because two of us are at PHS, two are at different high schools, and one moved to Augusta, Georgia. The fair itself sucked, but that was expected. The rides were not really that bad, and the real fun was just waiting in line for the rides, catching up. I am so glad I went.

This weekend, I ended up watching three movies (well, two were for school. But still) and procrastinated as usual until the last minute. (The latter really means that it was technically only fun until the “last minute”. However, that is expected and normal at IB.) In addition to Dr. Strangelove, I also watched Girl with a Pearl Earring and Elizabeth (the 1998 Cate Blanchett version). They were part of an extra-credit assignment for my AP European History class, in which I had to write a one-page reaction paper to each movie I watched. However, Mr. Jones specifically told us to watch both Elizabeth and its sequel, Elizabeth: The Golden Age. I could not watch The Golden Age, so I only wrote the paper on Girl with a Pearl Earring. To be honest, I enjoyed Elizabeth much more than Girl with a Peal Earring. I will save my criticism of it for another post, but suffice to say that it was just too awkward.

The rest of the time, I just played Facebook Tetris and read stuff on the Intertubes and listened to podcasts. Which is also fun (I am kind of running out of superlatives, and not feeling creative at the moment, so “fun” it is, for the umpteenth time) in its own way. :)

 

3 Responses to “My Weekend (Mainly)”

  1. Priya Says:

    I think your blog is amazing =]

  2. Aly Says:

    Aww thanks. But I don’t have a fleur-de-lis like Kay does. And his blog is a literary reference. Mine is just Ancient Greek.

    But my design is still prettier, right? I always imagined my blog would be brown, and the flowers are so pretty. :)

  3. Priya Says:

    Your blog IS prettier. I can’t think of a better combination. In fact, when I was imagining designing my room, it was these colors. It’s not too girly, but perfect. It seems to say “sophisticated” and “modern” and has a splash of femininity so I don’t seem weird. The flowers are definitely very nice. =]


Leave a Reply

