Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

What I Am Reading: The Color of Magic 25 November 2008

Filed under: Reading — Aly @ 12:37 am

I find that if I record stuff in some manner, I tend to feel more organized. Therefore, I am going to treat my wonderful friends (who, for some reason, seem to actually enjoy reading my blog) to even more details about my exciting life. I will accomplish this by writing about what books I am reading (this may include required reading books for school) and how I like them. Here goes.

Currently, I am reading The Color of Magic, by Terry Pratchett. It is the first novel in the Discworld series, and I have to say, this shit is amazing. It is a parody of the typical fantasy novel, and I love it (especially since I used to eat up fantasy when I was younger). It is called “Discworld” because the world is a flat disc (imagine that). It is held up by four great elephants who in turn stand upon the Great Turtle A’Tuin. The story follows Rincewind (a wizard) and his “friend” Twoflower, a tourist from the other side of the Disc. The color of magic is a mysterious color called octarine, which is the eighth color in the rainbow, visible only to those who have magical power. It has been described as “greenish-purple” (No, it’s not supposed to make sense), but I always imagine it as a golden sort of shade. Anyway, this book is pretty amazing, and I encourage everyone to read it. It is very reminiscent of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, and that is definitely a good thing. :)

Oh, and I forgot to mention that this is my second read of the book. I read it over the summer, and am looking forward to getting The Light Fantastic some time soon, so I figured it would be nice to refresh. Also, shout-out to Jordan, who was the one who got this for me for my birthday in the first place. :D

UPDATE: I have finished The Color of Magic, and am hoping that I will be able to make the trip to the library today so I can have The Light Fantastic before they close before Thanksgiving, but it looks doubtful. :( I guess I will just have to stick to homework to keep me occupied.

 

One Response to “What I Am Reading: The Color of Magic”

  1. […] is the much-anticipated sequel to The Color of Magic (”much-anticipated” in that I anticipated going to Books-A-Million to buy it, not that […]


Leave a Reply

