Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

Greensleeves 13 December 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aly @ 10:58 pm

Today, instead of studying for the exams coming up, I did other stuff. Included in this “other stuff” was practicing the piano for the semi-recital I had today.

The songs I played at the “recital”, which was more of an informal gathering at my teacher’s house, were “What Child is This?” and “Holly Jolly Christmas”. I had really fallen in love with the former as I practiced before, and even more so today. I was actually looking for one of the songs I played at a recital before, and came across “Greensleeves” another of my books. In case you did not know, “What Child is This?” and “Greensleeves” have the same music but different lyrics. The version in my Christmas book, “What Child is This?”, had no lyrics, but “Greensleeves” did. I read the lyrics as I played, and it changed my experience of the song entirely. Before, it had been pretty but nothing special. The lyrics really touched me. Here is a sample from the full lyrics:

Alas, my love, you do me wrong,
To cast me off discourteously.
For I have loved you well and long,
Delighting in your company.

Greensleeves was all my joy
Greensleeves was my delight,
Greensleeves was my heart of gold,
And who but my lady Greensleeves.

I really cannot stop playing this now. I have been rushing over to the piano at random moments just to hear it (I am actually itching to do so right now, but I shall finish this post first). It is honestly one of the most beautiful melodies I have heard in a long time, and is even more beautiful due to its simplicity. Even the right-hand melody alone is truly delightful in itself.

Because of the whole Henry VIII myth, I really want to hear it sung by a man, but YouTube has failed me; I cannot find a single good version with male vocals. :'( I cannot link to a really great YouTube video because I have not found one that fits the way I think “Greensleeves” should be sung. Anyway, I think everyone should listen to it and enjoy its beauty, even if you just hear the instrumental version. :)

 

3 Responses to “Greensleeves”

  1. Thanatos Says:

    You do realize that this is about prostitutes right?

  2. Aly Says:

    I am not a stranger to the context of the song, no. But I still think it is beautiful.

  3. Jordan Says:

    omg, thats played in a movie!!! i listened to it on youtube! it makes me so angry that i cant figure out where! omg!!!!!

    I always loved this song!

    OH!

    i think its on that tim burton movie… um…

    Corpse bride!

    im pretty sure it is!


Leave a Reply

