Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory 15 December 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aly @ 9:25 pm

This weekend, when I was supposed to be working, I basically just messed around a bunch. In addition to enjoying Greensleeves, I also ended up watching Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I am speaking of the version with Johnny Depp, the newer one (for the record, the older one was Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, not “Charlie”).

I have watched the older one numerous times, and this was my second time seeing the newer one. I must say, the newer one was far superior. Both the movies added in plotlines that were not in the book, but I felt the “Charlie” version was truer to the spirit. It actually made Wonka into a three-dimensional character, explaining his obsession with chocolate and adding in a good message about family and love and mushy stuff. The “Wonka” version added in a silly bit about the recipe for Everlasting Gobstoppers and it was quite stupid in that aspect.

Another major plus for the “Charlie” version was the visual effects work. The actor who played all the Oompa Loompas (he is Indian btw!) did a hilarious job, and the overall effect of all these similar-looking Oompa Loompas was much better than the odd-looking one in the “Wonka” version. The “Charlie” version had a much more magical feel to it, and the coloration of the entire movie was very nice. It was very . . . saturated, I guess you would call it. The dark was dark and the colors were bright. It was very surreal and more the way the factory I always imagined was.

One thing I loved about the newer movie is that they took almost all of their lyrics from the original songs Roald Dahl wrote. I have read the book itself more times than can be counted (I used to have a few of the lyrics memorized), so it was really delightful to hear the original lyrics. :D

While I have said all these great things about the “Charlie” version, the “Wonka” version is not bad at all either. I would recommend both to anyone.

Roald Dahl, the author of the original Charlie and the Chocolate Factory novel, has written some of the best books ever. No lie. I have read pretty much every story he has written for children (and some of what he has written for adults). I used to own several of his books (I never figured out what happened to them . . . ), and borrowed the rest from my friend Kari (the one who taught me the piano). I even did a book report on one. His writing is just magical, and I cannot imagine life without books like Matilda, Esio Trot, The Witches, Danny the Champion of the World, BFG, Fantastic Mr. Fox, and all of his other stuff, too. When (if?) I have kids, they are going to read a ton of Roald Dahl. I just love his creativity and everything.

*sigh* I wish I could go back to the days when I read his books. I need to get my hands on some of them; I would like to see if I still think they are good.

tl;dr: Newer movie is better than the old. Roald Dahl is fuckin’ awesome.

 

8 Responses to “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”

  1. Adrika Says:

    I dont believe that Roald Dahl will lose his popularity completely. I loved his books when I was little too. I believe the first one of his I read was the BFG and I remember going home and telling everyone in my family the story everytime we read it in class (it was a book that our teacher read to us while we sat on the floor). I have to say though, the newer version sucked. It was sooo stupid and Depp was totally overacting. I honestly found it useless and prefer the “Charlie” version a lot more.

  2. Aly Says:

    Umm, the older version is the “Wonka” version. The thing with the old one was that it did not stick to the plot at all. It added in all this random shit that messed everything up.

    I really liked Johnny Depp’s acting, actually, because he was very good at playing this reclusive, weird chocolatier with unresolved issues. Like I said, it added depth to the story, something that Dahl did not worry about (his stories are always so fantastic and magical that they do not really seem to need depth of character, but the movies do). I think that makes sense . . .

  3. Jordan Says:

    I always hated how matilda the movie didnt follow the plot of the book at all(well most the way). but i still loved the movie, i still watch it every time it comes on tv.

    as for the whole “charlie” vs “wonka” i liked the newer one better, although i didnt get the whole squirrel scene, it was dumb. I didnt like how he was so friendly in the “wonka” version, cuz wonka was supposed to be mean/reclusive but that guy had a creepy voice and he kinda reminded me of a pedafile.

  4. Aly Says:

    Well the squirrel scene was in the book, whereas they totally made up the goose stuff. Wonka was supposed to be eccentric and misunderstood, a bit. The Gene Wilder (old) version of Wonka was just really happy, and as I said, two-dimensional.

    The Matilda movie was really different, and I still prefer the book by far, but it was as good as could be expected.

  5. Jordan Says:

    really? i dont remember the squirrel scene or the goose scene, but i do remember that they went to some more rooms and that they got around the factory using the elevator. didnt each kid get to pick a room or something?

  6. Dantes Says:

    Roald Dahl himself hated the first version.

  7. […] I also found myself, for some reason, repeating this rhyme, which I first encountered in a Roald Dahl book (his autobiography, if I am not mistaken), to myself: My candle burns at both […]

  8. […] Roald Dahl books (Diligent readers may recall — I almost didn’t — that I wrote a post mentioning Roald Dahl last year). I remember owning The Witches; Danny, the Champion of the World; […]


Leave a Reply

