Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

:( –> :) 2 February 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aly @ 1:23 am

A few days ago, I was feeling very bad. I was really not feeling to great about myself, but I did not want to admit it to anyone else. It was not really a big deal, in hindsight, but it felt huge at the time. Sometimes, shattered paradigms respond nastily to being hit full-force by reality.

Anyway, someone, from whom comfort was totally unexpected (“unexpected” is such an understatement. I had expected schadenfreude or something), said a few words, a couple of sentences, that made a big difference for me. Those words changed my outlook on the entire situation. The person did not know what effect his or her words had, unfortunately.

If you ever have something nice you want to say to someone, something you were considering omitting, then say it. It can really have a huge effect on that person, and it can really be a gift, especially when received from unexpected sources. If you do not know the person well, surprise him or her. Even if it does not comfort him or her directly, I think knowing that there are people out there who care for your well-being and sympathize or empathize can be cheering in itself.

I think I will try to do this from now on. To try to make people feel better when they need it. I also need to learn not to kick people when they are down, to refrain from the snarky comments when people are particularly vulnerable. We will see how this works out. (Only being half-serious with that last bit . . . hopefully?)

Since chances are supremely unlikely that this will ever be seen by the person to whom I am in debt, I will forgo another, parting thank-you, and in its place, offer this thought:

I am up at 1:23 blogging instead of finishing my math IA. Am I crazy? I think not. I just have negative self-control skills. :D

 

4 Responses to “:( –> :)”

  1. Priya Says:

    D=
    It’s been seven days and I haven’t read this! I REALLY must memorize this website…. =[

    Your post truly did touch me. Like, I don’t know how to explain it, but whilst reading it (apart from agonizing myself about who were talking about–sorry, but when you write so ambiguously, people are going to wonder), something happened inside of me. And it was a good thing. I will try to follow this principle as well. =]

  2. Aly Says:

    Well, my point was to speak ambiguously. It’s the sort of thing on which I want to give a lot of details. It’s just embarrassment and kind of wanting to forget the entire situation. Or something.

    Sho shweet, Priya. :)

  3. stephen Says:

    I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about

  4. stephen Says:

    Also “The best way to cheer yourself up is to cheer someone else up”
    Mark Twain

    *volunteering?*


Leave a Reply

