Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

Mars Is Bright Tonight 9 February 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aly @ 11:18 pm

Actually, I have no clue how to spot planets in the sky. I just love that line. The reason that is my title is because the sky is really beautiful tonight. Especially the moon.

I went out there initially to get the mail, but stuck around because of the moon (it is full tonight). I sat in the grass in the backyard for ten or fifteen minutes, just staring off into space. If you know me, you know that it is a big deal for me to sit outside, in the dark, on the ground. I usually cannot stand the feeling of grass on my skin (I had some minor ant-bite traumas when I was younger, and the grass feels the same as an ant crawling), but I just ignored it.

The weather is wonderful today. Even though it is February, the night was cool, with just enough breeze to remind you that this hemisphere is tilted away from the sun right now.

It was a wonderful time to just sit and think; and even more, admire the night. The trees’ bare branches made black silhouettes against the moonlit sky. Directly upward, the sky was as dark as possible, and it felt as if it would just suck me up (kind of like Dave in . . . well, I don’t want to give away the ending. That one guy Dave in that one book when he turns into a star child).

The street is visible from my backyard, kind of. I could see the floodlights on in my old elementary school, across the street (an aside: sometimes, we hear announcements from their PA system. Pretty sweet).

Even the hated grass was intriguing. Besides assuring that my butt was directly on top of a thick patch of grass at all times (thinner grass=more insects, or so the rationale goes), I ended up glancing at the grass, which was in particularly nice relief: the porchlit blades and shadows contrasted interestingly. I always get annoyed at those “artsy” pictures. You know, the ones that are so contrived. Blades of grass seem to be a recurring theme in artsy pictures, but I was surprised to see how beautiful my grass was, in a very spontaneous, organic way.

Despite its wandering, my gaze would always come back to the moon and its halo (but I am pretty sure that was just the mist in the air or something). It is so bright and beautiful tonight. Looking at the moon reminded me of how I feel sometimes with my contacts. If I am in sufficient light, and I widen my eyes, I can see a whole new, brighter world. Ever watched CSI: Miami? The world feels as vibrant and bright when I do the widened-eye thing.

I know I have been really ramblesome (not a word, but I wish it were), but that is pretty much how my thoughts were, except not as censored. I also found myself, for some reason, repeating this rhyme, which I first encountered in a Roald Dahl book (his autobiography, if I am not mistaken), to myself:

My candle burns at both ends,

It will not last the night;

But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends –

It sheds a lovely light.

P.S.: I would have taken a picture, but no camera of mine could have done that sky justice.

 

5 Responses to “Mars Is Bright Tonight”

  1. Giouli Says:

    How beautiful, indeed. It’s nice you got over your fear of the outdoors for a while.

  2. Priya Says:

    I was just about to say that, Giouli. Steal my adjective why don’t you… >.<

    Dude, that’s moving. I’m going to go outside and sit outside. Was this just now, btw? Like at 11? Just curious.

  3. Adrika Says:

    *gasp!* you sat on the grass?!?!
    Just reading about gazing at the moon sounds like it was really peaceful. I agree, the moon was beautiful last night. I’m not sure if it was clear enough yesterday, but it’s also really nice to go out and see the constallations.

  4. Jordan Says:

    This is the kind of stuff we need for the newspaper, something that lets us step away from the stress of school and just relax. I really enjoyed this blog btw.

  5. Aly Says:

    Whoops, I never replied to you guys…

    Adrika: I know! On the GRASS. With the BUGS. I am not so good with the constellations, but I keep looking for opportunities to go try.

    Jordan: thanks! :)


Leave a Reply

