Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

College Letters 26 May 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aly @ 2:32 am

We all get them, “we” being those who signed up for it on the PSAT or PLAN or who filled out Mr. Rose’s survey thing at the beginning of last year. Letters, e-mails, brochures, booklets, posters; colleges obviously have no idea how to go about wooing me.

Protip: wasting reams of paper and cartridges of ink in hopes of convincing me to move cross-country for a school like Puget Sound (sorry, Washington, but Twilight kind of ruined you for me) tends to get on my nerves.

Anyway, colleges make an effort, so I feel obligated, when an e-mail pops into my inbox, to at least skim what they have to say. And a lot of them include a request to supply some information about me so they can send me information packets about their awesome school with a spectacular atmosphere and a 1:300 student-to-teacher ratio and who knows what else. Who am I to deny them?

However, I feel the need to, shall we say, fuck with them a little. So, I tend to fill out something different in the “interested fields” blank. On the PSAT, on a whim, I wrote down Physical Sciences or Natural Sciences or something, so that’s often a default. My hobby is to figure out what response would induce the most lulz. For example, I told Brown University I am interested in women’s studies. Except for, you know, I think that is like the most ridiculous thing to major in ever. “Women’s studies”? Really? Why is there no “men’s studies”? And I do not want any bullshit about how all the rest of history is men’s studies . . . if you honestly believe that, well, sucks for you.

Anyway, any other ideas on how I could fuck with colleges? It’s not like I will ever apply/get in to/want to go to those schools anyway, and I figure they will probably never know the difference. :)

 

7 Responses to “College Letters”

  1. Priya Says:

    I don’t know, Brown isn’t too shabby… =P

  2. [insert cool name here] Says:

    Speaking of colleges, I got a Johns Hopkins e-mail today; and for race, they have: Asian
    (including Indian subcontinent)

    Just thought you’d like to know.

    • Aly Says:

      I HATE that! What the fuck else would we be? Just because we have the Indo-European thing going on does NOT mean we would be like Caucasian or something. Ugh.

      • [insert cool name here] Says:

        At least they’re clarifying… but they still don’t have the Middle East as anything.

  3. Jordan Says:

    hehe, on the psat or plan (cant remember which) i filled in the “enjoy” bubble for “do you like to watch for forest fires” it seemed fitting at the time.


Leave a Reply

