Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

What I Am Reading: Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom 27 August 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aly @ 8:03 pm

I have started reading some books and short stories by Cory Doctorow. You may know him from the numerous xkcd comics referencing him. Most of those comics are about his advocacy for free content. He is anti-DRM and -restrictive copyright laws. He is also an author.

You can find almost all of his books online, available for free (in a variety of formats), on his Website (links at end). I recommend going through the Wikipedia articles, because I had trouble navigating his site. Anyway, I downloaded the Word documents and uploaded them to my phone. (If I understand correctly, you upload from your computer to something else and download to your computer from something else?)

So far, I have read Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom, which was really, really good. I couldn’t put it down (but had to because the day I started reading it was last Saturday, also the day my mom had a partay at our house and I had to help clean up). Magic Kingdom, like all of Doctorow’s novels, is sci-fi. It is set in the future, in a time when death has been eliminated by a process of uploading one’s brain to a computer and installing it in a clone every time one’s body is damaged. Other technologies, such as the ability to be cryogenically(?) preserved indefinitely, also exist. The story is set in the Disney World of the future, where there are people constantly competing to build the best rides and earn the most Whuffie (a system of points that measures others’ esteem for one. It is a replacement for money).

The premise seems kind of crazy, but underneath it all, it is still an interesting story. A guy fights for the ride he loves, along with his girlfriend and Whuffie-poor best friend. I loved the story, and I liked the twisty ending.

Doctorow’s Website.

To download Magic Kingdom.

Doctorow’s Wikipedia article.

 

2 Responses to “What I Am Reading: Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom”

  1. Jordan Says:

    That sounds pretty cool, this weekend i might read it, i havent read anything all week, being an average student(i dont put too much effort into hw but i do do it now) makes me want to just sleep. do you know about how many pgs it would be if it were a book?


Leave a Reply

