Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

Revisiting a Brave New World 28 August 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aly @ 10:10 am

I have read Brave New World multiple times, probably at least four. But I hanging out at the UWF library the other day, and I thought I would check out a book or two. I spotted Brave New World and saw that it was accompanied by Brave New World Revisited, Aldous Huxley’s nonfiction work discussing the implications of the issues he raised in the novel. I had not gotten a chance to read it until then, so I was excited and checked it out.

I took the opportunity to reread the novel itself, which I finished a while ago. I loved it even more this time around. There is a whole chapter in which the object of this new society is explained. I wish I could quote it all, but instead I will present this short bit from the end of that chapter:

“But I don’t want comfort. I want God, I want poetry, I want real danger, I want freedom, I want goodness. I want sin.”

“In fact,” said Mustapha Mond, “you’re claiming the right to be unhappy.”

“All right then,” said the Savage defiantly, “I’m claiming the right to be unhappy.”

“Not to mention the right to grow old and ugly and impotent; the right to have syphilis and cancer; the right to have too little to eat; the right to be lousy; the right to live in constant apprehension of what may happen to-morrow; the right to catch typhoid; the right to be tortured by unspeakable pains of every kind.” There was a long silence.

“I claim them all,” said the Savage at last.

Mustapha Mond shrugged his shoulders. “You’re welcome,” he said.

I’ve been so impressed with the similarities between Huxley’s vision of the future and Orwell’s. They are so complementary. I can see hints of both books in society today.  I could go on forever about those two books!

After finishing the novel, I started on the essay. Honestly, I found it too boring. It was written in the sixties and a lot of it felt irrelevant. At the time, it must have been effective, because it referenced a lot of current events. Now, however, it was hard to get through.

I have decided that if a book is not fun, if I have to force myself to want to read it, then it is not worth the time it takes to read it. (Or even if it is interesting, but so long or tedious that I feel discouraged, it’s time to stop. Perhaps I’ll miss out on some good books that way, but as my free time dwindles, I want to make the most of it, and that means instant gratification.

TL;DR:

Brave New World=<3

Brave New World Revisited=eh.

 

Leave a Reply

