Voice of Truth

Comes in six flavors: up, down, charm, strange, top, and bottom. Cones and cups available.

A Post Because I Don’t Want Julie to Cry 21 September 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Aly @ 2:45 am

Oh, Julie, I’m so sorry, but I am just a poor, uncreative soul. I have nothing to say. Instead, let me give you some interesting links — not everyone is so talentless as I.

Scooby-Doo is 40 years old! Scooby-Doo is basically my hero. That show was my favorite when I was little. It was (is?) a total classic, and I will love it forever. When I have children, their only TV will be old DVDs of Tom and Jerry, assorted Looney Tunes (especially the ones with Road Runner and Wile E. Coyote), and Scooby-Doo. (I just noticed that in italics, “a”s are different from those in regular text :O).

Kay and I were talking about Zimbabwean inflation, and the always-wonderful Wikipedia came to the rescue with a hilarious graph. Well, it isn’t really hilarious; more like sad. But I cannot help but giggle at numbers like 6.5 × 10108% inflation (from Wikipedia). Poor Zimbabwe.

There was an article in the Washington Post about three months ago that talked about Iran’s elections (and more interstingly) how statistics can show those results were rigged. It is so cool. They basically looked at the last digits in each of the numbers of votes reported by the Iranian government. Those numbers should be random; but human brains are not adept at producing truly random numbers, so rigged election results would produce nonrandom data. I basically love everything about this article. :)

A list of 99 memes you should have experienced if you’ve ever been on the Internet (hint: you have). I have not really gotten a chance to go through all of these, but it is a pretty cool idea, no? People on the Internet really don’t have any lives, do they? :)

I concur with everything in this comic (don’t forget the title-text!). A Softer World is one of my favorite webcomics. So many ASW comics just make me sigh at their genius. Some of them are super creepy, but they’re still cute. Here are some other ASW comics I love!

I realize I went a little overboard with the A Softer World comics, but I love them! They reference Slaughterhouse-Five; how can I not love it? :) Anyway, maybe that brightened your day a little? I hope so!

 

Leave a Reply

